Calif. Gov. Declares State of Emergency for Seven Counties Affected by January Storms

January 19, 2005

California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger has declared a state of emergency for Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego and Santa Barbara counties, paving the way for them and the cities within them to apply for partial reimbursement of eligible response and repair costs associated with the storms that hit California earlier this month.

The Governor also signed Executive Order S-1-05 ordering the California Department of Transportation to request federal funds to assist with highway repairs and reconstruction and also allowing the Department to expedite the process of reopening and restoring transportation infrastructure damaged in the storms.

Heavy rains across Southern California and a mudslide in La Conchita earlier this month led to a number of deaths and much damage to properties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.