Oklahoma Governor Declares Emergency in Wake of Storms

April 15, 2008

In the wake of recent severe storms across the state, Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry declared a state of emergency to exist in 38 Oklahoma counties due to tornadoes, severe storms and flooding which began on April 9.

Gov. Henry also amended a March 27, 2008, executive order by adding two counties, Hughes and Pawnee, to the list of those counties experiencing severe storms and flooding since March 17.

The executive order is the first step toward seeking federal assistance. In addition, Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management officials are in the midst of preliminary damage assessments to determine the extent of damages.

The counties included in the state of emergency are: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Coal, Comanche, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Kiowa, Latimer, LeFlore, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Tulsa and Wagoner. More counties will be added as needed.

Source: Oklahoma Governor’s Office, www.governor.state.ok.us/index.php

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.