Harrison Elected as New IIAT President

June 14, 2004

Bill Harrison Jr. of Coleman Company Insurance Services in San Antonio was elected president of the Independent Insurance Agents of Texas during the IIAT’s 107th Annual Convention in Dallas. Harrison, who succeeds Jim Berger, begins his term Sept. 1. He was introduced as the association’s new president by his father, Bill Harrison, Sr., who is a previous IIAT president.

Other newly elected officers include: Randy Reynolds of Texas Associates Insurors in Austin, president-elect; and Robert Hempkins of Hempkins Insurance in Denison, vice president. David VanDelinder, IIAT executive director in Austin, was elected secretary-treasurer.

New members elected to the board of directors for three-year terms are: Doug Hotchkiss, of Hotchkiss Insurance Agency, Addison; Garry Kaufman of Galveston Insurance Associates, Galveston; and Jimmy Rogers III of the Rogers and Belding Insurance Agency, El Paso.

Don Bowles Jr., president of McQueary Henry Bowles Troy in Dallas, won the Drex Foreman Award, which was presented by former IIAT president André Juneau of the Frost Insurance Agency. The Young Agent of the Year Award went to Rowdy Nutt of Bosworth & Associates in Tyler. The ACSR of the Year Award was presented to Cherrie Bland of the Grimes Insurance Agency in Lubbock.

Preliminary figures show more than 1,000 insurance professionals and industry representatives participated in the three-day convention of workshops, seminars and a trade show featuring more than 140 exhibitors.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.