Six Additional Ohio Counties Eligible for Snow Removal Reimbursement Following December Storm

January 26, 2005

Ohio Gov. Bob Taft announced this week that local government entities in six counties may apply for financial assistance to offset eligible costs incurred during the severe winter storm Dec. 22-24, 2004.

The emergency federal declaration for Crawford, Huron, Marion, Richland, Sandusky and Seneca clears the way for affected governments in these counties to seek reimbursement for snow removal related to ensuring public safety.

“The last month has been trying on all Ohioans, and the governments in their local communities have gone above and beyond to restore normalcy,” Taft said. “The cost of snow removal has been an added financial burden to local governments, and thanks to President Bush, they can now receive some reimbursement for their efforts.”

Taft requested the additional six counties be added to the Presidential Emergency Declaration through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on Jan. 18, 2005. The declaration allows local and state governmental entities and qualified non-profit organizations to be reimbursed up to 75 percent of their cost for eligible emergency expenses from the December winter storm.

Examples of these costs include overtime labor and other emergency protective measures while conducting snow removal activities, and other costs directly related to protecting public health and safety during a consecutive 48 hour period. Taft’s request was based on record snow levels.

The six counties were added to 17 counties already declared including: Butler, Champaign, Clark, Darke, Delaware, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Logan, Madison, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, Union and Warren counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.