The ASU Group Notes Election Results

January 7, 2005

The ASU Group, an employee-owned corporation that provides third party administration services to the insurance industry and self-insured organizations, held its annual meeting in December 2004 at its headquarters in Okemos, Michigan (Greater Lansing Area) and announced the election results.

Duane Hershberger and Richard Lund were re-elected to the Board of Directors for three-year terms. They will rejoin seated members Art Knueppel, James Mathews, Tara O’Connor-LaRose, and Kim Pavlik.

O’Connor-LaRose was re-elected as CEO and as president. Michael Wood was re-elected as secretary and as treasurer. O’Connor -LaRose began working for The ASU Group in 1985 and served as an executive vice president and COO prior to being named CEO and becoming a Board member.

Wood began working for The ASU Group as controller in 1987 and currently serves as CFO and retirement plan administrator.

The ASU Group adopted the Carver Board of Governance Model in 2003 and will continue operating under this method of corporate leadership. Art Knueppel was re-elected as chief governance officer and James Matthews was re-elected as vice chief governance officer. Knueppel is a retired hospital CEO and has been a Board member for The ASU Group since January 2002. Matthews began working for The ASU Group in 1969 and served as president from 1986 to 1996.

2005 Board of Directors

Since its founding as Michigan Claims Service in 1952, The ASU Group has grown to provide services throughout the Midwest, and it continues to expand. The company provides claims administration, claim adjusting services, and medical bill review and recovery services for the insurance industry and for self-insured organizations and local governments.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.