President Bush Declares Disaster in Washington for December Storm

February 16, 2007

President Bush on Feb. 14 declared a major disaster in 19 Washington counties and approved federal money to help with state and local recovery efforts from the Dec. 14-15 winter storm.

The federal money is intended to help with repairs from the storm, landslides and mudslides in Chelan, Clark, Clallam, Grant, Grays Harbor, Island, King, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, and Wahkiakum counties.

Federal dollars are also available to help government agencies and some private nonprofit organizations work to prevent damage from similar storms in the future.

Gov. Chris Gregoire’s request for federal disaster aid for November flooding in 11 counties was approved by President Bush in December, a few days before the Dec. 14-15 storm caused more damage.

The governor has also requested federal disaster assistance for January windstorm damage in seven counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said the disaster designations for the December storm could be expanded when damage assessments are completed.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.