Emergency Declared in Wake of Oklahoma Flooding and Severe Storms

June 15, 2010

State officials in Oklahoma declared a state of emergency on June 14 for 59 counties following severe storms and flooding that began a day earlier.

At the request of Gov. Henry, who is out of the state, Lt. Gov. Jari Askins approved the paperwork declaring the emergency.

“We urge everyone to use caution as storms continue across our state,” Lt. Gov. Jari Askins said. “Once again our heroic responders have demonstrated the ‘Oklahoma Standard.’ I want to extend my thanks to the emergency crews and the news media for keeping the public safe and informed during this life-threatening crisis.”

Counties included in the release are: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Major, McClain, McIntosh, Mayes, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Oklahoma, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

The declaration provides a formal mechanism for local governments to seek reimbursement for recovery costs through the state’s disaster public assistance program should conditions warrant. The executive order is also the first step toward seeking federal aid should it be necessary.

Additional counties may be added to the executive order as necessary.

The State Emergency Operations Center was activated by the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management Monday morning.

Source: Oklahoma Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.