Disaster Aid Expanded in 3 Texas Counties Following Rita

October 20, 2005

Federal disaster assistance for Brazoria, Marion and Montgomery counties has been expanded to include assistance for local governments affected by Hurricane Rita for the repair, replacement or restoration of public infrastructure that sustained disaster-related damages.

The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) approved the additional assistance following a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials.

Under the original declaration issued by President Bush, Brazoria and Montgomery counties were designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners and aid to local governments to reimburse them for debris removal and emergency services. Marion was previously designated for debris removal and emergency services reimbursements.

Under the expanded assistance, affected local governments and certain private non-profit organizations in these counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Applicants have 30 days from the date their area is designated eligible to submit a Request for Public Assistance to the state. Once the Texas Governor’s Division of Emergency Management receives the request form, a FEMA public assistance coordinator and a state public assistance specialist are assigned to work with the applicant throughout the recovery period.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.