National Insurance Producer Registry Elects Officers

December 4, 2007

The board of directors of the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR), elected its 2008 officers at a meeting held during the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ Winter National Meeting in Houston.

Alaska Insurance Director Linda Hall was re-elected president. Hall has been a member of the NIPR board since June 2003, having served as president since December 2004.

Also re-elected was NIPR Vice President Wesley Bissett, senior counsel for state government affairs for the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America. Bissett is only the second individual to serve in this role in NIPR’s 11-year history, and the first to come from the agent/broker side of the industry.

NAIC Executive Vice President and CEO Catherine J. Weatherford will again serve as NIPR secretary/treasurer.

NIPR is governed by a 13-member board of directors, with six members representing the NAIC and six members representing industry trade associations (including three producer trade associations). The NAIC’s executive vice president and CEO serves as an ex-officio voting board member.

Source: NAIC

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.