Tropical Depression Ivan’s N.Y. Victims Urged to Register for Assistance by Nov. 30

November 25, 2004

New Yorkers in the six disaster-designated counties (Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Orange, Sullivan, and Ulster) who sustained damage or losses from Tropical Depression Ivan (Sept. 16 – 24) have just a few days left to apply for state and federal disaster assistance.

Disaster recovery officials urge those homeowners, renters and business owners to register with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as soon as possible by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing impairments may apply by calling 1-800-462-7585. Lines remain open from 6 a.m. to midnight, Monday through Friday. Those with Internet access can register anytime at

Disaster assistance may include grants for home repairs, temporary housing or any serious disaster-related expenses; and long-term, low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover personal, residential and business losses not covered by insurance or otherwise compensated.

In other disaster news, New Yorkers who suffered damage and losses during the severe storms and flooding of Aug. 13 – Sept. 16 have until Jan. 15, 2005, to register. The 14 counties recently designated for disaster assistance are: Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Orange, Orleans, Steuben, Sullivan, Ulster and Wayne.

Residents who experienced losses from both storm systems, and who live in Broome, Orange, Sullivan or Ulster counties, must register twice to apply for disaster assistance – once for each incident period, Aug. 13 through Sept. 16 and Sept. 16 through Sept. 24.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.