New Mexico Governor Issues Disaster Order for 5 Counties

February 18, 2010

new Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson has signed a disaster declaration for five northwestern counties that were hit hard by recent snow storms.

Richardson’s order covers Cibola, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Sandoval and San Juan counties. It frees up to $300,000 in disaster funding for affected areas.

Over the past several weeks, heavy snowfalls have made life difficult for residents, especially in rural areas. Severe winter weather made roads impassable and in some areas food was delivered on 4-by-4 vehicles and helicopters.

State officials have been assessing damage in recent weeks. Richardson’s order allows disaster assistance program funding for recovery efforts and repairs to infrastructure.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.