Emergency Aid Ordered for Nev. Snowstorm Response

February 21, 2005

The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster funds have been authorized for Nevada to supplement emergency response efforts for the record snowstorm that struck the state beginning in late December.

Michael Brown, under secretary of Homeland Security for Emergency Preparedness and Response, said President Bush ordered the aid under an emergency declaration issued after a review of the agency’s analysis of the state’s request for federal assistance. The declaration covers jurisdictions with record and near-record snowfall from the storm that occurred over the period of Dec. 29, 2004 through Jan. 2, 2005.

Following the President’s action, Brown designated 15 counties eligible for federal funding to pay part of the cost for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of the snowstorm. This includes state and local government operations needed to protect public health and safety and to prevent damage to public or private property.

The designated counties include Carson City , Churchill, Clark, Douglas, Elko, Eureka , Humboldt, Lander, Lincoln , Lyon , Mineral, Nye, Storey, Washoe and White Pine.

Under the emergency declaration, FEMA will reimburse state and local government agencies for 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow over a 72-hour period. These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities to permit the passage of emergency vehicles. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting will also be eligible for reimbursement.

Brown named Philip Parr of FEMA to coordinate the federal assistance in the affected areas.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.