Colo. Puts Uninsured Motorists on Notice

January 7, 2005

Effective Jan. 1, 2005, Colorado now has one of the strictest laws in the country dealing with uninsured motorists. Under House Bill 1193, signed by Gov. Bill Owens earlier last year, penalties dramatically increase for driving without insurance.

“Gone are the days when scofflaws could drive uninsured on our roads and get away with a slap on the wrist and a one hundred dollar fine,” said Colorado Insurance Commissioner Doug Dean. The new law requires a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum of $1,000 and suspension of a person’s driver’s license for first time offenders. Repeat offenders will be faced with a minimum fine of $1,000 and suspension of the driver’s license for up to eight months.

In addition, the database that matches registered vehicles to records from insurance companies will also be enhanced to catch violators. If a vehicle is flagged as being uninsured, that vehicle’s registration will be suspended.

“In the past, many uninsured motorists knew that the cost of insurance was more than the cost of the fine if they were caught,” the Governor said. “With this new law, I believe more Coloradoans will recognize that it is no longer worth the risk to drive without auto insurance.”

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.