Tennesee Seeks Federal Disaster Aid for Storm-Struck Counties

July 7, 2009

Democratic Gov. Phil Bredesen is requesting a federal disaster declaration for five Tennessee counties hit by severe storms.

The five counties are Claiborne, Fayette, Hancock, Haywood and Shelby. If the request is granted, the counties will be eligible for federal funding for recovery.

The counties were hit by storms that began June 12 and continued through the next week.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.