Tennessee Counties Approved for Federal Disaster Aid

May 18, 2009

Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen announced the federal government has approved his request for disaster assistance for four counties following severe weather on April 10.

Local governments and public utilities in Rutherford, McMinn, Sequatchie and Benton counties are now eligible for Public Assistance Program funds from the federal government.

The federal program will help cover emergency response and recovery costs incurred by state and local governments.

The storm included a tornado, which caused two deaths in Rutherford County.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.