A Florida bill requiring children under 16 to wear a helmet while riding a horse on public roads and trails is headed to the governor.
The bill is named for Nicole Hornstein. The 12-year-old from Palm Beach County died in 2006 after being thrown from a horse she was riding. She was not wearing a helmet. Hornstein’s family has tried since 2007 to get similar legislation passed.
Under the bill (HB 169), any person who allowed a child to ride a horse without a helmet would be fined $500. Some Florida cities already have laws that require minors to wear helmets when riding, but the bill would make helmets mandatory around the state.
The bill passed the Senate this week 34-3. It had already passed the House.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.