West Virginia Gov. Expands State of Emergency in Flood-affected Areas

June 10, 2008

After touring flood-affected areas in central West Virginia and other parts of the state, and witnessing substantial damage, Gov. Joe Manchin expanded the state of emergency declared June 4, to six additional counties and the surrounding regions.

Those additional counties are Calhoun, Clay, Gilmer, Jefferson, Ritchie and Wirt, and the counties that surround them. The state of emergency still includes the counties named on June 4: Barbour, Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Taylor and surrounding counties.

The governor activated the West Virginia National Guard to assist in the cleanup effort.

Manchin also ordered an assessment to determine if the damage warrants a federal disaster declaration, which makes available additional federal assistance. The governor urges citizens to contact their local county emergency services offices to report flood and storm damages to their homes and businesses.

Severe thunderstorms and heavy, sustained rains disrupted transportation, produced mudslides, downed trees and caused property damage.

The state of emergency allows the governor to direct special resources to the affected areas that otherwise would not be available. The state of emergency remains in effect for 30 days unless extended or rescinded by another proclamation by the governor.

Source: Office of the Governor of West Virginia

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.