13 Kentucky Counties Designated for Disaster Public Assistance

May 21, 2008

The Federal Emergency Management Agency designated disaster assistance for 13 Kentucky counties to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by the April 3-4 severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding in the commonwealth.

Officials approved the assistance following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The counties designated to receive assistance are Anderson, Crittenden, Fleming, Fulton, Hancock, Hopkins, Lewis, Livingston, McLean, Nicholas, Ohio, Spencer and Woodford.

Affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration signed by President Bush on May 19, and made available through FEMA’s public assistance program for state and local governments.

Source: Office of the Governor of Kentucky

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.