The Association of Workers’ Compensation Claims Professionals will present a seminar dedicated to Central Florida’s workers’ compensation claims professionals on Tuesday, April 27, 9 a.m. to 4:40 p.m. at the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, 1501 International Parkway, Lake Mary, Fla. More information is available at (407) 995-1100.
Join the WCCP as it offers an advanced look at the 2004 W/C Rules as they are about to be announced by the Division of W/C. Additional topics include Ethics and the handling of Police and Firefighter claims under the legal presumptions offered by Florida’s W/C statutes.
A special rate of $79 is available for those who may require an overnight stay. Mention the “WCCP Claim Seminar” to get the rate.
The seminar will offer:
9:00 – 10:40 a.m. Rules, Regulations & Audits: A 2004 Extreme Challenge (Spkrs: Frances Ford and Stacy Hosman, WCCP Board of Directors) The WC Rules are almost done, and changes are taking place. Get the earliest scoop available on changes the DWC is implementing, the new standardized medical report, and what you can expect when the Department of Financial Services comes to audit your performance.
10:40 – 11:00 a.m. Break
11:00 – 11:50 a.m. Handling Dental Trauma Claims (Spkr: Laura McLain, Express Dental and Health Services).
11:50 – 1:00 p.m. Lunch Break
1:00 – 2:40 p.m. Police, Firefighers & Presumptions (Spkr: Kevin Cothron, Preferred Governmental Claim Services) Managing police and firefighter claims has become extremely difficult since 9/11/01, especially with the extra protections Florida WC law provides. Learn more about these protections and presumptions from the Florida experts on governmental and municipality claims.
2:40 – 3:00 p.m. Break
3:00 – 4:40 p.m. Ethics or Bad Faith: Which Guides Your Behavior? (Spkr: TBA) If a claims adjuster behaves ethically, bad faith is not a concern. Or is it? Beware of motivations that can be distorted, or you’ll find yourself facing depositions, bad faith allegations, and licensure censure.
Certification: This program will be certified for a total of 7 hours of Adjuster credit.
Fees: The flat fee to attend Day 1 is $75 for WCCP members, and $125 for non-members. *Note: Individual classes can also be taken “a la carte” for the rate of $20 per credit hour. Simply download a registration form and indicate the classes you are taking, multiply the hours by $20, and send your check or complete charge card authorization form. Payment may be made at the door.
Participants may register by fax or by mail. Invoicing is limited to employers only, for a minimum of five attendees, and arrangements must be made in advance by the individual responsible for payment for that employer.
Contact the WCCP at 800-642-774, or by email to email@example.com.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.