Ark. Gov.: 5 Counties Disaster Areas Due to Tornado, Thunderstorm

January 16, 2008

Ark. Governor Mike Beebe declared Benton, Conway, Craighead, Poinsett and Pope Counties state disaster areas due to the damage caused by thunderstorms and tornadoes on Jan. 7 and Jan. 8.

Beebe’s declaration releases $250,000 from the Governor’s Disaster Fund to be used by the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management through the Individual Assistance Program. Affected residents in all five counties can apply for assistance by phone at 1-877-828-3362 or at their local Department of Human Services offices.

In Bentonville: 900 Southeast 13th Court, 479-273-9011
In Morrilton: #2 Bruce Street, 501-354-2418
In Jonesboro: 2920 McClellan Drive, 870-972-1732
In Harrisburg: 406 North Illinois, 870-578-5491
In Russellville: 701 North Denver, 479-968-5596

Source: Arkansas Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.