Six Texas Counties Declared Disaster Areas

October 4, 2007

President George W. Bush declared six Texas counties disaster areas on Tuesday, Oct. 2nd because of damage from Tropical Storm Erin in August.

The declaration makes Bexar, Harris, Jones, Kendall, Medina and Taylor counties eligible for federal aid to help in recovery efforts.

The assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs for residents and business owners trying to recover from the disaster.

The storm made landfall Aug. 16 at Copano Bay, about 25 miles northeast of Corpus Christi and weakened to a tropical depression. Its thunderstorms brought torrential downpours to Houston before sweeping through flood-weary Central Texas and killed at least five people.

Federal Emergency Management Agency workers continue surveying other areas, so additional counties may be designated for assistance.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.