77 Okla. Counties Receive Disaster Designation

August 2, 2006

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns approved a natural disaster designation for all 77 counties in Oklahoma because of recent drought conditions, the governor’s office announced July 31.

The designation means Oklahoma farmers and ranchers may be considered for low-interest loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency.

Gov. Brad Henry requested the designation June 6 in response to drought, extreme heat and high winds that have plagued Oklahoma’s farmers and ranchers over the past two years.

“What our farmers and ranchers need most of all is relief from the drought, but this disaster designation can at least alleviate some of the hardships they have faced,” Henry said in a statement.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.