Inaugural Inductees to Risk Management Hall of Fame Announced

May 4, 2011

Five inaugural inductees to the newly formed Risk Management Hall of Fame (RMHF) were announced by RIMS and Chartis during the opening ceremonies of the RIMS 2011 Annual Conference & Exhibition in Vancouver..

The RMHF was organized to maintain the history and tradition of the field of risk management, as well as honoring those professionals who have made significant contributions to advancing the discipline.

The 2011 inductees to the RMHF are:

John Pinner: Mr. Pinner spent 42 years with Mattel, Inc., creating and defining the risk management function for the world’s largest toy company. He served several terms as President of the Los Angeles Chapter of RIMS and, throughout his career, traveled extensively for Mattel in Europe and the Far East. Mr. Pinner was also responsible for the formation of Mattel’s Captive Insurance Company in Bermuda.

Eldrich Carr: Mr. Carr spent more than 25 years in risk management and insurance management positions, much of that time with The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company. Mr. Carr was one of the first to use the internet for underwriting submissions and as a replacement for the insurance certificate process, and is a frequent speaker at various national and international risk management forums.

Douglas Barlow: Mr. Barlow was a risk management pioneer whose career spanned decades as a risk manager and educator. He is credited with creating the first global insurance and risk management program at Massey-Ferguson, a Toronto-based farm equipment manufacturer, where he spent much of his career. Mr. Barlow was also the first risk professional to hold the title of risk manager and is credited with coining the now-pervasive phrase, “cost of risk.”

Donald Barrett: Mr. Barrett’s career spans more than 30 years, much of that time with the Hydro Group, the fourth largest generator of electricity in Canada. He served as a member of the Risk Management Committee of the Canadian Electricity Association, including a two-year term as Chairman, and was on its Critical Infrastructure Committee following the events of 9/11. Mr. Barrett was a founding member of the Newfoundland and Labrador RIMS Chapter, which in 1981 was accepted by RIMS as its newest Canadian chapter. He was the first Vice President of the chapter and held several executive positions, including six terms as President, until his retirement.

Cheri Hawkins: Ms. Hawkins is retired from her position as Assistant Treasurer and Director of Insurance for Weyerhaeuser Company, the international forest products company headquartered in Tacoma, Washington, where she spent 25 years of her career. In 1990, she became the first female president of RIMS, and in l992, she was given the Weyerhaeuser President’s Award for her efforts on environmental settlement. In 2000, Ms. Hawkins was selected by Business Insurance as one of its first ever “100 Leading Women,” which celebrates women at the top of the insurance industry.

RMHF is home to those risk professionals who have made exceptional contributions to advancing the risk management discipline. RMHF is a joint venture of the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. (RIMS) and Chartis, and was created to preserve the history and tradition of the profession.

Founded in 2011, nominees are considered from around the globe and inductees are selected by the RMHF Selection Committee. New members to the Risk Management Hall of Fame are announced yearly at the RIMS Annual Conference & Exhibition.

For more information, visit

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.