Feds Get Nearly 10,000 Applications for Illinois Flood Aid

August 23, 2010

Federal officials have received nearly 10,000 applications for disaster assistance from seven Illinois counties hit by flooding last month.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is urging residents and business owners to apply for aid if they sustained damage or losses.

The counties of Carroll, Cook, DuPage, Jo Daviess, Ogle, Stephenson and Winnebago were hit by major flooding from July 22 through July 24.

A federal disaster declaration means the counties are eligible to receive federal funds to help residents and municipalities to recover.

Gov. Pat Quinn declared 12 counties state disaster areas on July 26, making the areas eligible for state assistance.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.