Iowa Governor Adds 2 More Counties to Disaster List

June 25, 2010

Iowa Gov. Chet Culver had added Hancock and Wright to a disaster emergency proclamation because of severe weather.

He added the counties after powerful storms hit northern Iowa with heavy rain that caused flash flooding and produced several tornadoes.

The proclamation will allow the counties to use state resources to deal with the aftermath of the storms.

Five counties are now on the list, which also includes Ringgold, Union and Taylor in southern Iowa.

Grants are available assist eligible county residents. More information is available on the state’s Department of Human Services’ Web site.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.