Federal Disaster Funds Ordered for Neb. Winter Storm Recovery

January 27, 2006

The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) reported that federal disaster funds have been made available for Nebraska to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area hit by a severe winter storm last November.

Acting FEMA Director R. David Paulison said President Bush authorized the aid under a major disaster declaration issued following a review of FEMA’s analysis of the state’s request for federal assistance. The declaration covers damage to public property from the storm that occurred Nov. 27-28, 2005.

After the President’s action, Paulison designated the following 29 counties eligible for federal funding to pay the state and affected local governments and certain private non-profit organizations 75 percent of the approved costs for emergency work and the restoration of damaged facilities: Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Custer, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Hayes, Holt, Kearney, Knox, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, Madison, McPherson, Nance, Perkins, Phelps, Pierce, Red Willow, Rock, Valley, Wayne and Wheeler.

In addition, Paulison said federal funds will be available to the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. He indicated that additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.