Western Massachusetts Farmers Eligible for Federal Disaster Aid

October 15, 2010

Farms in Massachusetts’ five westernmost counties have been granted federal disaster relief for production losses suffered because of last spring’s unseasonably cold weather.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture declared Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden and Hampshire counties primary natural disaster areas. That means farms that meet certain requirements are eligible for loans and other assistance from the Farm Services Agency.

Farms in Worcester County, which was declared a contiguous disaster area, are also eligible for loan assistance.

Crops damaged by unseasonably late frost and freeze between April 28 and May 17 included asparagus, strawberries, blueberries and cherries. Farmers predicted production decreases of at least 30 percent.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.