Deadline Nears for Conn. Flood Victims Seeking Federal Aid

August 6, 2007

Connecticut residents who incurred financial costs as a result
of storms and flooding in the state last April have less than one week remaining until Aug. 14 to register for assistance, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Individual assistance is available to affected homeowners and renters in Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New London, New Haven and Windham counties for eligible losses that occurred April 15 through April 27.

Telephone registrants can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY
1-800-462-7585 (for those with speech or hearing impairments) between 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The deadline for telephone registration is 7 p.m. Monday, Aug. 13.
Individuals may register online at until midnight on Aug. 13.

The Aug. 13 deadline also applies to applications for low-interest
disaster loans from the Small Business Administration (SBA). For
residential property damage not covered by insurance, the SBA loan
program is the primary form of disaster assistance. In addition,
completion of the SBA loan application is a pre-condition to qualify for
some forms of FEMA aid. An exception to the SBA deadline is for
Economic Injury Disaster loans, which may be made until March 13, 2008.

Call the SBA at 1-800-659-2955 or visit

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.