Federal Disaster Declaration for New Mexico

October 31, 2013

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration to provide federal aid to New Mexico for mid-September flooding and storm damage.

The White House says the federal assistance will supplement state and local recovery efforts in the affected areas.

According to the White House, the declaration means federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis with state and local governments and certain nonprofits for emergency work and repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

The counties where the funding is available are Catron, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Eddy, Guadalupe, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, Sandoval, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro, and Torrance.

The White House also says federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.