Disaster Assistance Available to Montana County

August 26, 2013

Farmers in Gallatin County are eligible for federal disaster assistance after an Aug. 1 hailstorm caused up to $50 million in crop losses.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture declared the Montana county a disaster area on Wednesday after the storm caused crop losses of between 50 percent and 100 percent.

Gallatin County farmers are now eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans.

Gov. Steve Bullock requested the disaster declaration on Aug. 13. Six days later, Sens. Jon Tester and Max Baucus added their support for the declaration.

The counties bordering Gallatin – Broadwater, Jefferson, Madison, Meagher and Park – are also eligible for certain disaster assistance.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.