The Nevada Highway Patrol has issued more than 4,500 citations to drivers using cellphones this year under a new state law.
The Elko Daily Free Press reported the numbers from the Nevada Department of Transportation. The law banning the use of cellphones while behind the wheel took effect Jan. 1.
Fines for the offenses range from $72 for the first citation to up to $250 for subsequent tickets.
NDOT spokeswoman Meg Ragonese says at least seven deaths in the state last year happened as a result of distracted driving.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.