Disaster Aid Offered to 5 New Mexico Counties

December 3, 2010

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said disaster aid totaling more than $355,000 is on its way to communities in five New Mexico counties that suffered damages from summer flooding.

The federal public assistance funding is available to Cibola, McKinley, Mora, San Juan and Socorro counties for flooding that occurred between July 25 and Aug. 9.

The FEMA program provides supplemental financial assistance to the state, its agencies, local and tribal governments and some private nonprofit organizations for eligible response and recovery expenses.

State Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Secretary John Wheeler said officials are working to identify more projects and get more funding approved for the counties.

FEMA reimburses applicants 75 percent of their eligible costs. The state and applicants share the remaining 25 percent.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.