Hawaii Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas

July 22, 2010

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Hawaii’s four counties primary natural disaster areas.

The department took the action in light of agricultural losses caused by the continuing drought that began Jan. 1.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said in a Washington news release that he and President Barack Obama understand the dry conditions caused severe damage to warm season grasses and pasture.

Vilsack says designating the counties primary natural disaster areas will provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses.

The designation means qualified farmers in Hawaii are eligible for low interest emergency loans from the department’s Farm Service Agency.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.