Two New Mexico Counties Get Disaster Aid

December 10, 2009

The U.S. Department of Agriculture in Washington has designated Grant and Luna counties in New Mexico as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought and high winds that occurred since Jan. 1.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack says this action will provide help to hundreds of farmers who suffered significant production losses to pasture and grasses.

Farm operators in Catron, Dona Ana, Hidalgo and Sierra counties in New Mexico also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas now are eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.