Disaster Designations Issued for 7 Colorado Counties

March 10, 2009

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued disaster designations for seven central and western Colorado counties because of crop losses in 2008 caused by bad weather.

Farmers in Chaffee, Fremont, Gunnison, Lake, Park, Pitkin and Saguache counties will be eligible for consideration for emergency loans and other assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack announced the designations in a letter received by Gov. Ritter.

The letter says the USDA determined that excessive spring snowfall and below-normal temperatures caused enough crop losses to warrant the designations.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.