7 Washington Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

February 9, 2009

Seven additional counties in Washington state have been added to the list of those where residents and business owners are eligible for disaster assistance to repair damage from January’s storms, flooding and landslides.

The additional counties are Benton, Cowlitz, Clallam, Grays Harbor, Kittitas, Skagit and Whatcom.

Disaster assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available.

Late January 2009, individuals and businesses in eight counties were declared eligible for the assistance. Those counties are King, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Snohomish, Thurston and Wahkiakum.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.