Utah Declares Ag Disaster in Six Counties

November 6, 2008

Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman has issued an agricultural disaster declaration for six counties that sustained damage from extreme weather or wildfire.

The six counties are Garfield, Millard, Sanpete, Kane, Piute and Box Elder.

Most of the farmers and ranchers in the six counties sustained crop and forage production losses of at least 30 percent.

In issuing the state declaration, Huntsman is seeking a declaration from the federal government that would make low-interest loans available to qualified farmers and ranchers.

Losses in those six counties come to nearly $29 million so far.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.