Idaho Governor Approves Disaster Declaration for Five More Counties

February 7, 2008

Gov. C.L. “Butch” Otter approved a disaster declaration for five more counties because of last week’s extreme snow conditions.

The declaration adds Benewah, Clearwater, Fremont, Power and Shoshone counties to the list of counties eligible for state government help.

Last week, Otter announced emergency disaster status for Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai and Latah counties.

More than 60 Idaho National Guard soldiers have been helping remove snow from the roofs of buildings in Shoshone and Bonner counties, to prevent them from collapsing under the weight of the snow.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.