Mont. Gov. Notes New Members of Hail Insurance Board

March 21, 2005

Montana Gov. Brian Schweitzer has announced new members of the Board of Hail Insurance.

Board of Hail Insurance

Gary Gollehon, Brady, chair — Gollehon is a fourth-generation farmer in Chouteau County. After attending Montana State University, he began farming in 1965.

Director of Agriculture Nancy Peterson, secretary – Peterson has 30 years experience as a farm owner/operator on 2,600 acres north of Havre. Peterson’s farm operation included all areas of FSA farm programs, NRCS, crop/farm insurance, oil and gas leasing, farm loan applications, farm credit and all aspects of hands-on labor of operating a family farm.

State Auditor John Morrison — Morrison was elected Montana State Auditor, the Commissioner of Insurance and Securities in November 2000 and re-elected in 2004. Prior to his election, he practiced law in Montana for 13 years and previously worked as a legislative aide and legal counsel in the U.S. Senate. He serves as chairman of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners Health Insurance and Managed Care Committee.

The board consists of five members including the state auditor, the director of agriculture, who is secretary of the board, and three other members who serve three-year terms. The board directs the state hail insurance program, which was created in 1917 to provide basic hail insurance coverage on any crop grown in Montana. The program is self supporting through an expendable trust and reserve established with premiums paid by participating producers. The program works closely with private insurance providers in the state since many producers carry both state and private hail insurance.

Participation in the state hail insurance program is often considered an adjunct to private hail insurance so that producers have adequate hail loss protection.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.