Four Wyo. Counties Receive Primary Disaster Designations From Ongoing Drought

December 14, 2004

Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal announced recently that, due to losses caused by drought, four counties have received primary natural disaster designations from U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Ann Veneman through the Farm Services Agency.

The four counties are: Albany, Hot Springs, Natrona and Washakie. Big Horn, Campbell, Converse, Crook, Goshen, Johnson, Lincoln, Niobrara, Platte, Sheridan and Weston counties received similar designations in September. The designation makes farmers and ranchers eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the FSA. Other forms of drought
assistance are also available through the FSA.

All contiguous counties have already been designated as primary counties or named as contiguous counties for the same disaster, allowing farm and ranch operators in those counties to apply for low-interest loans as well.

Eligibility for an FSA loan is based on the extent of loss, security available and repayment potential from farmers and ranchers within the designated drought areas.

“Even while we see some winter precipitation, many Wyoming farmers and ranchers are suffering tremendously under the ongoing drought,” Freudenthal said. “I hope that this recognition by the federal government means they’ll be able to get some much-needed help.”

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.