North Carolina Legislature Considering Adding Rules for Mopeds, Scooters

January 28, 2015

Mopeds could be regulated further in North Carolina by requiring drivers to get insurance and a permit or identification card.

Division of Motor Vehicles Commissioner Kelly Thomas presented recommendations Tuesday to a legislative committee. He says they are based on what’s required in most other states.

The legislature last summer already required mopeds and motor scooters be registered with DMV starting this July. That will require an $18 fee.

The recommendations say someone with a revoked or suspended driver’s license due to impaired-driving shouldn’t be allowed to operate a moped. And mopeds should stay off roads where posted speed limits are at least 45 mph. Some lawmakers say the limit would hurt rural residents.

Any new restrictions would have to be approved by the legislature.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.