AAA Honoring Safest Towns in South Carolina

October 14, 2011

South Carolina’s safest communities are being honored by the Foundation for Traffic Safety of AAA Carolinas.

Awards are being handed out in Columbia on Thursday at a luncheon featuring AAA and state officials, including Secretary of Transportation Robert St. Onge and Phil Riley of the Department of Public Safety.

The awards are based on crash statistics, law enforcement officers per capita, traffic safety programs and whether communities have traffic safety divisions.

The top five communities with populations of more than 30,000 are Goose Creek, Mount Pleasant, Rock Hill, Summerville and Sumter. Those with populations between 10,000 and 30,000 include Greenwood, Hanahan, Mauldin, Newberry and Port Royal.

Those with less than 10,000 include Batesburg-Leesville, Cameron, New Ellenton, North and Pine Ridge.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.