17 Alabama Counties Now Qualify for Federal Storm Aid

May 2, 2011

The federal Emergency Management Agency says 17 Alabama counties now qualify for disaster assistance to homes and businesses damaged by tornadoes and storms.

FEMA added seven counties to the list Sunday. They are Autauga, Calhoun, Elmore, Etowah, Marion, St. Clair and Tallapoosa.

Counties approved earlier were Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marengo, Marshall, Sumter, Tuscaloosa and Walker.

FEMA says aid can include help paying for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest loans are also available from the Small Business Administration to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

FEMA’s toll-free registration number is 800-621-3362. There’s also a number for the hearing or speech impaired: 800-462-7285. FEMA also has a website for registration: http://www.disasterassistance.gov

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.