North Carolina will issue temporary one-time pyrotechnic licenses to operators instead of the new standard three-year licenses to meet high demand around the July 4th holiday.
The Legislature quickly passed and the governor signed legislation last week authorizing Insurance Commissioner and State Fire Marshal Wayne Goodwin to issue one-time, temporary pyrotechnic licenses to experienced operators and assistants.
This is the first year that North Carolina is requiring operators and assistants to have state licenses to conduct pyrotechnic and proximate fireworks displays. The standard licenses expire after three years.
No temporary licenses will be issued after July 31. Individuals who receive a temporary license have not passed a pyrotechnics exam at the time of issuance and will need to pursue permanent certification to conduct future pyrotechnic displays after the temporary license expires.
To qualify for a temporary pyrotechnics license, an individual must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Pay a $25 fee.
- Have conducted at least six permitted displays in North Carolina within the last ten years.
- Complete the training course and written exam required for the standard license within 60 days.
If an individual fails to take the training course and exam within 60 days, he or she will be barred from applying for a pyrotechnics license until after Sept. 30, 2011.
More than 350 people have completed the training course and passed the exam to receive a three year operating license.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.