Bluefield County Wants to Be Included in Disaster Aid for West Virginia

March 11, 2010

Bluefield officials say Mercer County should have been included in a federal disaster declaration issued for 15 other southern West Virginia counties hit by a winter storm.

City Manager Andy Merriman said heavy snow and sleet damaged many roofs in Bluefield and water leaks have been reported in numerous homes and businesses.

He said Bluefield is working with the Mercer County Office of Emergency Services to see if the county and the city can be included in the disaster declaration.

The declaration signed last week by President Barack Obama covers Boone, Calhoun, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Kanawha, McDowell, Mingo, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane and Wyoming counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.