Tennessee Farmers in 10 Counties Eligible for Disaster Aid

January 25, 2010

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated five counties in Tennessee as primary natural disaster areas due to heavy rainfall that began last Sept. 1 and continues.

They are Claiborne, Cocke, Rutherford, Sevier and Union.

Farmers and ranchers in 16 contiguous counties also qualify for federal assistance: Anderson; Cannon; Greene; Knox; Bedford; Coffee; Hamblen; Marshall; Blount; Davidson; Hancock; Williamson; Campbell; Grainger; Jefferson; and Wilson.

Qualified farm operators in the counties become eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.