Driving too fast will soon get very expensive in Georgia.
Going 85 miles per hour or more on most Georgia roads — including interstates — will cost a speeder an additional $200 when a new law takes effect Jan. 1. On two-lane roads, the extra fine starts at 75 miles per hour.
The extra fine is in addition to the regular fine drivers pay for going over the speed limit. That fine varies depending on where the ticket is written.
The director of the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, Bob Dallas, says he believes the law will save lives.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.