17 Georgia Counties in State of Emergency Due to Heavy Rains

September 22, 2009

After viewing storm damage in Douglas and Paulding counties from the air, Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency in 17 counties affected by heavy rain and severe weather that has passed through Georgia.

The counties are Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Stephens and Walker counties.

Northern Georgia has been drenched with more than 20 inches of rain since last Friday. Schools and roads have been closed and homes and businesses flooded.

“We are currently focused on rescuing victims of the storms targeting Georgia and preventing further damage. State personnel and equipment are being deployed to assist affected communities,” said Perdue.

The metro Atlanta area was under a flash-flood warning Monday. Emergency workers in at least two counties rescued residents from high waters.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.