Florida’s governor has ceremonially signed a law requiring children under 16 to wear a helmet while riding a horse on public roads.
Gov. Charlie Crist signed the bill last week, but re-enacted it at a ceremony earlier this week at a park in Loxahatchee.
It is named for Nicole Hornstein, a 12-year-old Palm Beach County girl who died in 2006 after being thrown from a horse she was riding. She was not wearing a helmet.
Hornstein’s family has tried since 2007 to get similar legislation passed.
Under the law (HB 169), any person who allows a child to ride a horse without a helmet can be fined $500. Some Florida cities already have laws that require minors to wear helmets when riding, but the bill would make it mandatory around the state.
Was this article valuable?
Here are more articles you may enjoy.