27 Georgia Counties Eligible for Federal Disaster Assistance

April 27, 2009

The Obama administration has approved a federal disaster declaration for 27 Georgia counties hit by severe weather in late March and early April.

Gov. Sonny Perdue said tornadoes, winds, hail, severe thunderstorms, flash and flooding resulted in widespread residential, commercial and infrastructure damage across South Georgia.

The counties eligible to receive assistance are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Grady, Lanier, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Montgomery, Pierce, Tift, Toombs, Ware, Wheeler and Worth.

Perdue requested the federal disaster declaration April 10. The designation makes the counties eligible for federal aid.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.